Instagram is one of the most used social media platforms right now with over a billion users. However, it’s good to take a break from it sometimes. For that, you must learn how to deactivate your Instagram account temporarily, and you can even delete it.
In this guide, we will explore the two options that Instagram offers to get away from your account. You can either deactivate it temporarily or delete it permanently. The key difference between the two methods is that the former allows you to return to the platform.
How to Deactivate Your Instagram Account Temporarily?
If you are planning to take some time off Instagram, it’s wise to deactivate your account. This will take your account and data off the platform temporarily and your followers won’t be able to find you on the platform. Here’s the procedure to deactivate your Instagram:
- Launch a web browser on your PC and visit Instagram.com on it. You can’t deactivate your IG account on the Instagram mobile app.
- Now click on your profile picture in the top right and click on Profile. Next, click on “Edit Profile.”
- Scroll down to find Temporarily Deactivate My Account and then click on it.
- Choose an option from the drop-down menu for “Why are you deactivating your account?”
- You will have to re-enter your password next.
- Finally, click “Temporarily Deactivate Account” and click “Yes” to confirm.
That’s it. You’ll be logged out of your account then and you can’t access it anymore until you log back in. Remember that you can only deactivate your Instagram account once a week.
Also Read: Picuki for Instagram: A Hidden Way to Keep an Eye
How to Reactivate your Instagram After Deactivating?
If you change your mind and start missing Instagram a lot, you can simply come back and reactivate your account. For that, you just have to launch the Instagram app or visit the website and enter your username and password on the login page.
Once you log back into your Instagram account, it is automatically reactivated. You can use it then like you used to previously. If you change your mind again, you can again deactivate it as many times as you’d like to.
How to Delete your Instagram Account Permanently?
If you are fed up with Instagram and want to give up permanently, the ultimate option is to delete your account permanently. Remember that this method will clear up your profile and all of its data from Instagram’s server and it can’t be recovered again. Follow these steps:
- Launch a web browser on your PC and visit this page.
- Now log in to your account if you are not already logged in.
- Next, choose the reason why you want to delete your account.
- You have to re-enter your password to confirm it’s you.
- Finally, click on “Delete.”
After that, you have to wait for 30 days until it deletes your account permanently. If you change your mind during this period, you can cancel the deletion request by logging back into your account.
Note that it may take around 90 days for Instagram to completely delete your account. Once it is deleted, all your account data and profile information will be gone forever. You can’t access the same account ever again.
That’s all for this quick guide. We hope we were able to help you. Use the comment box to ask for any doubts or queries.