Are you wondering what will happen if you block a friend on Snapchat and if they’ll receive a notification for that? If yes, this quick guide will help you figure that out. Read on to learn what happens when you block someone on Snapchat in 2023.
Snapchat is one of the most popular social media apps. What started as an app where users communicated with vanishing messages and notifications for every other activity has now turned into an integral part of our online lives.
If you are on Snapchat, you will have a large number of friends on the platform. There can be times when you need to block someone on Snapchat and there can be several different reasons for that. You can easily do it though without worrying about it much.
How to Block Someone on Snapchat?
The procedure to block anyone on Snapchat is very simple. Follow these steps if you don’t know how to do it:
- Launch Snapchat and go to the chats section.
- Now select the friend’s chat whom you want to block.
- Next, tap on the friend’s bitmoji icon from the top left section.
- This will open their profile.
- Now scroll down and tap on “Manage Friendship.
”Finally, tap “Block” from the list of options.
That’s it. This will block your friend on Snapchat and it automatically removes them from your friend list on the app. Once you block a friend on Snapchat, you two will have zero contact on the platform.
What Happens When You Block a Someone on Snapchat?
When you block a friend or any other user on Snapchat, they won’t be able to connect with you. The blocked user cannot send you a message or any other media to start a chat with you. They will also not be able to view your stories even if it’s a public Story.
If the blocked user tries to search your account with the correct username, your account won’t pop up in the results. They will not be able to maintain a streak with you as they can’t send you snaps or videos.
You can’t also send them a message or snap after blocking them. You can’t even access the chat and the saved messages in them. However, the blocked friend will still have access to the saved messages in the chat. If you need to see them, you will have to unblock them and add them as a friend again.
Does Snapchat send a Notification when you block someone?
No. Snapchat doesn’t send a notification when you block someone even if it’s your friend. Although Snapchat is known for sending notifications for other activities like when you capture a screenshot or replay a snap, it doesn’t tell the other person directly that they’ve been blocked.
However, the other person can still figure out that you have blocked them by looking at some clear signs. There is a simple way using which anyone can figure out if they are blocked by a certain friend on Snapchat.
How to Know if Someone Blocked You on Snapchat?
If you suspect that you have been blocked by someone on Snapchat, then there is a simple way to confirm that. Just find their correct Snapchat username and search for it in the app, if their profile doesn’t appear in the results, then you can conclude that they have blocked you.
If you wish to be double sure, then you can take a mutual friend’s phone and check the username of the person whom you think has blocked you. You can also try searching for their username in the friend’s phone and see the results yourself.
When you are blocked by someone on Snapchat, they won’t appear in your friend list but you will still see their name in the chats section. You can see the previously saved messages but you can’t send them messages or snaps until they unblock you.
That’s all for this quick guide. We are here to help in case you need any further guidance.